Perk O Ladies

unnamed (1).jpg

Exhibit Dates: March 15 - May 11, 2019

Exhibit Opening: March 22, 2019

Perk O Ladies features the sculptural work of artist Pat Filzen. Created with non-functional coffee percolator understructures, each playful piece represents a strong women that has inspired the artist throughout her life.

Artist Statement
I have realized that this is my story, a strange take on an autobiography; growing up in a small town, a mother with strong feminist views, and the women (past and present) who have held places in my memories. What fun to now allow the ‘function’ of the coffee pot to morph into ‘forms’ of strong women who promoted change!

These are playful sculptures with non-functional percolator coffee pot understructures. Totally impractical, unlike the marvelous women who they celebrate. But if they make you smile, if they make you think a little more about the environment and the rights of all living things, then they are indeed functional!

Caroline S. Mark Gallery Sponsor